The Signature Scent

DSC_0179 - 2

source

Some people like to have their own signature scent because it is a symbol of their personalities, but unlike them, I love to change my scent every now and then. I don’t have any signature scent because I can’t stick to a certain scent for so long. I get bored quite easy hehe. Scent, any scent at all, is very significant in life. Scents can bring back memories of someone and some place even though you have left all them behind long time ago. It is like a time machine, transporting you back to those people and places. Some scents can make you smile and cry all by yourself. Some can make you drifting away in your own sad or happy memories, wishing you can turn back the time and relive all that. Some scents can even make you feel like you live in the memories because it feels so real.

Speaking of, yesterday, while I was at my sister’s place choosing perfumes to steal from her (hahah), I stumbled upon her DKNY Red Delicious and I quickly sprayed it on me. It immediately transported me back to a little perfume shop in Elizabeth St (if I’m not mistaken), Brisbane City that I used to visit when I was studying there, somewhere in 2007-2008. An image of a blond promoter wearing all black, with her hand holding a bottle of DKNY Red Delicious suddenly came to mind. I kept asking her to spray that fragrance on a strip of white paper that I was holding and kept smelling it while I was wandering around in the shop. I still remember walking to the shop with my backpack, looking at the passers-by who were walking so fast to do their errands, the buses here and there, the surrounding, the atmosphere etc. Hmm.. Memories. I miss being a student abroad. So young and free, do whatever you want, explore and learn new things. There was really nothing heavy to think about. Absolutely commitment free. Unlike now, I’m married and working, got bills to pay, this and that blah blah blah…

See, that’s me drifting away in my own writing, because of a scent that I smelled YESTERDAY.
That’s the power of scents.

Anyway, it was such a nice smell to me, but I ended up buying other perfume, LAMB by Gwen Stefani. I swore that would be my signature scent for the rest of my life. Pfffttt. I quickly bought other perfume once it was all out. Because I got bored already.

Here, some of the perfumes that I remember using.

My first signature scent, LAMB by Gwen Stefani.

My first signature scent ever, LAMB by Gwen Stefani.

My second fragrance, Curious by Britney Spears

Curious by Britney Spears

The third one, Hypnose by Lancome

Hypnose by Lancome

Butterfly by Mariah Carey

Butterfly by Mariah Carey

Manifesto by YSL

Manifesto by YSL

The current one, Mademoiselle by Chanel

The current one, Mademoiselle by Chanel

Right now, my Mademoiselle fragrance is almost gone. Haven’t got time to buy the next perfume yet, so I decided to steal one of my sister’s perfumes. Most of them I saw on the rack were half used already, so this, the full bottle of Green Tea by Elizabeth Arden seemed like the best choice that I’ve had.

Green Tea by Elizabeth Arden

Green Tea by Elizabeth Arden

Hated the scent at first, but after a few minutes, I think it grows nice on me. Citrusy, lemony, refreshing. Nature lovers would love this scent, I guess. The only downright is that it fades away so quickly. It doesn’t last longer on my skin so I am thinking to make this as my temporary scent until I buy the new one.

Told you, I don’t have a signature scent.

 

 

 

One thought on “The Signature Scent

Leave a Reply

