Ground Control To Major Tom

the-secret-longboard-of-walter-mitty

A few days ago, Fox Movies aired this Ben Stiller’s movie entitled, The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty. I’ve never watched this show before or known anything about it, like is it based on a novel or is it a real story (it is an adaptation of a short story by James Thunder in 1939, later I checked).. I didn’t know, but I was really attracted to watch it because, of course, the trailer seemed interesting but most of all, the soundtrack of the movie, Space Oddity by David Bowie. It is an old song but full of meanings. As quoted by Cheryl Melhoff, ‘it is a song about courage and adventures to the unknown’. Yeah, something to do with the movie too.

Space Oddity by David Bowie

Ground Control to Major Tom
Ground Control to Major Tom
Take your protein pills
and put your helmet on
Ground Control to Major Tom
Commencing countdown,
engines on
Check ignition
and may God’s love be with you[spoken]
Ten, Nine, Eight, Seven, Six, Five, Four, Three, Two, One, LiftoffThis is Ground Control
to Major Tom
You’ve really made the grade
And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear
Now it’s time to leave the capsule
if you dare

This is Major Tom to Ground Control
I’m stepping through the door
And I’m floating
in a most peculiar way
And the stars look very different today

For here
Am I sitting in a tin can
Far above the world
Planet Earth is blue
And there’s nothing I can do

Though I’m past
one hundred thousand miles
I’m feeling very still
And I think my spaceship knows which way to go
Tell my wife I love her very much
she knows

Ground Control to Major Tom
Your circuit’s dead,
there’s something wrong
Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you hear me, Major Tom?
Can you….

Here am I floating
round my tin can
Far above the Moon
Planet Earth is blue
And there’s nothing I can do.

So, I googled it. I googled the song and the meaning of it. You can look at it in all directions because different people have different views, but here’s what I thought. First I thought it was a song about an astronaut who lost contact with people at the ground control and might not be able to make it back to Earth. Yes, it seems like it when you look at the lyrics. Very literal.

But it also can be interpreted in a big picture, which is maybe about a person who is stressed up in life and sick with other people’s expectation of him/her (And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear), so s/he decides to keep their distance away from the surrounding (Now it’s time to leave the capsule) (I’m stepping through the door) and hoping to look at the world with different perspectives (And the stars look very different today).

Even after distancing him/herself from the world, s/he still doesn’t get what s/he wants in life (Though I’m past one hundred thousand miles, I’m feeling very still). Something is still missing, doesn’t know what it is. S/he is drown in own problems and wants to forget the world/people and everything that s/he used to care about (Planet Earth is blue, and there’s nothing I can do) and ready to give up and say goodbye.

Wow. This is getting deep, isn’t it?

This is just an interpretation. You might have one on your own too. Hehe

People, if you haven’t watched the movie (The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty) yet, please please watch it. It’s kinda funny too seeing I might have something in common with Walter Mitty. Sometimes, I’m also a dream machine like Walter Mitty, especially when it comes to fantasy revenge to people I hate haha, but the sad truth is, fantasy revenge doesn’t work out the way we want. Why owh why….

Anyway, it is a very good movie and still got me thinking even after a few days watching it. It makes me wonder, ‘what’s my biggest achievement in life?’ ‘am I happy and satisfied with the still life I’m living (you know, being a teacher blah blah blah)?’ ‘don’t I wanna do more than being stuck in the system that I hate?’ and question after question pop up in my mind.

One thing that I hope I have in common with Walter Mitty is,
I wish someday I have his guts to be spontaneous. I wish I can just drop everything and see the world through my own eyes like he does in the movie. Not as a tourist, but as a traveler. This reminds me of Sean O’Connell too. I wanna be a traveler like him.

Hmm…..

Walter Mitty at his office, getting teased by his boss and co workers for being a dream machine.

Walter Mitty at his office, getting teased by his boss and co workers for being a dream machine.

Fighting to get that rubber toy from his boss, in his dream, of course.

Fighting to get that rubber toy from his boss (starred by Adam Scott), in his fantasy land of course.

The girl he has a crush for, Cheryl Melhoff

The girl he has a crush on, Cheryl Melhoff starred by Kristin Wiig

Imagining Cheryl singing him, Space Oddity song while he was trying to brave himself jumping into a helicopter, piloted by a drunk man... to an adventure.

Imagining Cheryl singing him, Space Oddity song while he was trying to brave himself jumping into a helicopter, piloted by a drunk man… to an adventure.

Him, jumping into a boat but guess where does he land?

Him, jumping into a boat but guess where does he land?

Skateboarding in Iceland, in his journey of finding a traveler, named Sean O'Connell

Skateboarding in Iceland, in his journey of finding a traveler, named Sean O’Connell

The traveler, Sean O'Connell starred by Sean Penn

The traveler, Sean O’Connell starred by Sean Penn

Nice words there.

Nice quote there.

Here’s the trailer

What a wonderful movie. One of my favs now.

Bye.

p/s- school reopens in just a few weeks. Dammit!

Leave a Reply

