Home Is Where Our Story Begins (Part 3)

frosty-4

source

This entry is continued from Home Is Where Our Story Begins (Part 2).

Let me summarise the progress of our house that I unfolded in the previous entry.

Ceiling :🙂

Kitchen : DISASTER!😦

THE KITCHEN

While I was not in the mood due to the kitchen disaster that I told you earlier, a friend of hubs’, whom we called, Abg Boy introduced us to another contractor, Abg Dol. We wanted to find another contractor for our kitchen cabinet and probably asking him to fix my kitchen disaster. Initially, I just asked him to do our kitchen cabinet, but after I interviewed him a lot more, he told me that he did renovation and table top too.

“Nak solid surface pun ada.”

Hearing that, of course I wanted to hire him to fix my disastrous table top!

So he agreed. I tried to be wise this time by choosing the white solid surface for our table top to replace the hideous black one.
Tips; always choose bright colours for the bigger room impact.

The instalment of the white solid surface..

The instalment of the white solid surface..

Just like what I want. :-)

Just like what I want.🙂

Close-up!

Close-up!

The professional sketch..

The professional sketch of his. Haha. Mine was waaaayyy more professional right?

As you can see, I wrapped the black tiles to this silver formica to hide the inconsistent greyish line I told you in the previous entry.

As you can see, he wrapped the black tiles with this silver formica to hide the inconsistent greyish line I told you in the previous entry. At this stage, it was still not fully done.

 

THE FLOORING

Since we were so happy with Abg Dol’s work, we wanted him to decorate the whole house. What made it more fun? He was the guy who could do it all, the flooring, the cabinet, the blinds and the curtain etc. He was also very polite and professional. It was easy cooperating with him because every time we ran out of ideas, he would give us the solutions. Our saviour, he was!

Like I told you earlier, I hated the original yellow tiles for the flooring. I hate tiles, always do. They’re cold at night and hurt my soles. I wanted to change it to wooden flooring. Well, actually it is not really wooden, it’s like a rubber vinyl plank with wooden texture which in my opinion, is much better. It’s water proof and lasts longer compared to the usual wooden flooring.

The new floor!

The new floor! They covered the whole floor of the house (the hall and the three rooms), except for the kitchen and the bathrooms.

THE HALL

As for the hall decoration, I really like the idea of incorporating some wooden dark brown pillars as part of the partition and TV cabinet. The white cabinet at the front with the dark brown pillars at the back. How did I get this idea? I’ll tell you later.🙂

Like this.

My first idea. Like this.

I was hoping Abg Dol would stick to this sketch, instead he came up with a few designs on his own which I finally agreed with. I mean, the guy knew better than me so I just trusted him.

Before the partition a.k.a TV cabinet a.k.a book shelves..

Before the partition a.k.a TV cabinet a.k.a book shelves..

That's Abg Dol, working on our TV cabinet..

That’s Abg Dol, working on our TV cabinet..

The TV cabinet (without the TV yet haha). White for the clean and neat effect on the whole space.

The TV cabinet (without the TV yet haha). White for the clean and neat effect on the whole space.

The back of the cabinet. No no, I wouldn't just leave it empty like this. I was thinking of some book shelves to be put here.

The back of the cabinet. No no, I wouldn’t just leave it empty like this. I was thinking of putting some book shelves here. Just the simple ones for my novels.

So you see, this isn’t just a mere partition, but also functioning as a TV cabinet and book shelves as well. Look how Abg Dol incorporated those dark brown wooden pillars together with the white TV cabinet. This wasn’t my design, but I liked it! Really really nice!

The plaster ceiling with hidden lights..

The plaster ceiling with hidden lights..

Me, choosing the suitable wallpaper for our featured wall.

Me, choosing the suitable wallpaper for our featured wall.

That's the one we chose, or 'I' chose.

That’s the one we chose, or ‘I’ chose. Sampai malam Abg Dol buat kerja nk kejar dateline.

The wallpaper chosen for our bedroom. These are the extra rolls. Does anyone want one?

The wallpaper chosen for our bedroom. These are the extra rolls. Does anyone want one?

THE MASTER BEDROOM

Now, we proceed to the master bedroom. The second most important part of the house, after the kitchen.

The sketch of the wardrobe and the mini TV cabinet.

The sketch of the wardrobe and the mini TV cabinet.

The problem with this bedroom is again, the space (told you earlier, bungalow doesn’t necessarily mean BIG). So we have to be wise with the furniture arrangement here so it wouldn’t look crowded. We chose warm colours as the theme, to match the whole spaces of the house. Hmmm… There’s not much to do here and the whole process was just a decoration process. Installing the customised wardrobe and make-up table, the mini TV cabinet and the wallpaper. Then, it was pretty much done.

The customised wardrobe..

The customised wardrobe, up to the ceiling and that’s my make up table by the window.

Yeah, make up without the mirror yet. Haha

Yeah, make up table without the mirror yet. Haha

The white bed frame with black lines to match the wardrobe.

The white bed frame with black lines to match the wardrobe.

The mini TV cabinet.

The mini TV cabinet.

 

THE MULTIPURPOSE ROOM
(PRAYER ROOM, IRONING ROOM, GAME ROOM, STORE ROOM, CAT ROOM ETC)

This is the only room that I didn’t design because I didn’t really care. This is technically hubs’ space so it’s the only part of the house that I allowed him to be fully in charge of. Hihi. Since the room was too small, we had to make use of all the space here. He asked Abg Dol to build lots of shelves and drawers, for us to keep our things like luggage, shoes, vacuum cleaner, ironing board and of course, his Tamiya car collection.

Sorry, this is the only picture that I took. This room is full of shelves and drawers as requested, so there is really nothing fancy about it. Even that seat by the window is actually a cabinet to store our vacuum cleaner.

Sorry, this is the only picture that I took. Hihi

This room is full of shelves and drawers as requested, so there is really nothing fancy about it. Even that seat by the window is actually a cabinet to store our vacuum cleaner. On your left, that is the place where hubs put his PS3 and TV for game purpose and on your right, there’s another wardrobe for my ‘extra extra extra clothes and scarves’, luggage, ironing board and other things. We put a grey silver rug in the middle, together with bean bags so then hubs can spend his time here comfortably playing games.

THE OVERALL LOOK

So now, let me share with you the overall look of our house.

The kitchen..

The kitchen..

The TV cabinet..

The TV cabinet..

The chillax space..

The overall chillax space..

This is the back view of the same TV cabinet. I asked him to install some shelves here, didn't really tell him how I wanted it, but he made me this!

This is the back view of the same TV cabinet. I asked him to install some shelves here, didn’t really tell him how I wanted it, but he made me this!

This particular picture was sent to hubs’ phone at 3 a.m. THREEE!!! #respect

The wallpaper and the curtain..

The wallpaper and the curtain..

The dining hall, or the reading section. Or both. Without the curtain yet at this point.

The dining hall, or the reading section. Or both. Without the curtain yet at this point.

The master bedroom. My favourite space of all.

The master bedroom. My favourite space of all.

Yeay! That’s all. I finally have written the three parts of the home entries. Pheww.

So, can I pen off now? Nope, not yet. Just a lil credit I wanna give to someone.

In the previous entry, I talked about whole process of the renovation, rough layout and also the theme of the house. Like I said, I chose modern theme, with white and dark brown colour combination. Have I told you where did I get the idea from?

Pretty much from here, my sister’s new house in U12, Shah Alam.

Dig those dark brown wooden pillars! Fell in love straight away.

Dig those dark brown wooden pillars! Fell in love straight away.

I can see 'me' peeking through those pillars! Hahah

I can see ‘me’ dancing ala2 hindustan in between those pillars haha. Yeay nak tiru!

Her white/dark brown hall..

Her white/dark brown hall.. Tiru jugak!

The plaster ceiling design.. Memang tire sokmo laa. Hahah

The plaster ceiling design.. Memang tiru sokmo laa. Hahah

Do you see the resemblance?😀 The secret’s out. I went to my sister’s house, had a good look at it and went ‘Okay that’s nice, I’m gonna do that. What else do you have that I can tiru?’ My sister and I share the same interests. After all, we’re sisters. Tak kisah la rumah mcm nak sama kan? Hihihihi. Her new house was fully completed a year earlier than us. It’s a good thing that I could ask for her opinions on this matter every time we were stuck, blank and didn’t know what else to do with our house.

So there. That’s how we did it. That’s how we turned a house into our home. The key is to know exactly what you want and work your way to it. Some people take it slow, do it step by step and some people do the opposite, ‘sekali harung’ kata orang. Once and for all. Like us. We needed this to be quickly done so then we could move in faster. It was ridiculous having to pay our monthly instalment for the house and at the same time, pay the rent too, right?

Anyway, different people have different ways of doing things. You just need to do what works for you. Okay?

Good luck!

😀

Leave a Reply

