Home Is Where Our Story Begins (Part 2)

V7rcAzd

source

This entry is continued from Home Is Where Our Story Begins (Part 1).

Here, in the second part of the home entries, I wanna talk about the renovation and perhaps the decoration part will be in Part 3, the last part. As quoted by my husband, this is the part where we wanted to strangle each other badly! It was THAT intense, trust me.

So, first and foremost, when it comes to house decoration, you need to have a theme. You need to know what you like and how to incorporate all that into your direction. To me, this is very important. You don’t want your house to be all ‘caca marba’, do you? As for me, I like modern theme. It’s simple, neat, clean and elegant. Tho the house was still like a blank sheet of paper at that time (empty), I already imagined it filled with white and dark brown combination, mixed with a little splash of bright colours. That was so fun!

Well, at least that imagining part was fun. When we really looked at the house to start working on it seriously, we realized several potential problems. The biggest problem of all was the kitchen. It was the most important space that needed a close attention because it would be the place for me cooking for the family. It needed to be nice otherwise I wouldn’t have motivation to step in there, let alone to cook (that’s how I threatened my husband haha). The space for the kitchen was too small. There was no way I could fit everything that I had imagined earlier into the real space. You know, it was so small that we even considered to put the washing machine outside the house, to save some space, kununnye.

So we were thinking, by hook or by crook, we needed to break the kitchen walls to make more space for the kitchen. This was quite worrying because this process would cost a lot more. So what did I do? I bit my lips, closed my eyes and said,
‘Just break the freaking walls.’

The process of making the kitchen a big bigger..

Adding about 10 sq feet more to the original kitchen space. Just 10 sq feet but you really can see the difference.

There you gooo..

Wall, no more..

We moved the location of the windows to the side.

We moved the location of the windows from the back to the side, facing the front houses of the neighbours’, so maybe while I am washing my dishes at the sink, I get to see what my neighbours are doing through the window. Haha

The tiles we chose for the kitchen. Brown in different shades..

The tiles we chose for the kitchen. All brown in different shades..

It'll be easier if you sketch it first, or even colour it to see what it would look like.

It’ll be easier if you sketch it first, or even colour it to see what it would look like.

Two sketches. This one is the overall look of the kitchen.

Two sketches. This one is the overall look of the kitchen.

While they were working on the kitchen, we discussed what we were going to do with our next problem, which was the hall. It was too open, too big, no walls to divide the space, no partition. I didn’t like it when people get into the house, they could see everything in it from the front door directly. We really really needed the partition to divide the space into two. We? No, not ‘we’. It was just me actually. Hubs didn’t really mind about the partition so he came up with his own idea to which I rolled eyes at, and found it so blerggh! Then of course, the fight came after. But, after looooong discussion, we agreed to do it this way.

This is the sketch of the hall..

This is the sketch of the hall (I did it!). That’s the TV cabinet, as well as the partition.

First, we called the plaster ceiling guy and asked him if it was okay for him to give us two plaster ceiling designs for two spaces.

Dividing the space, starting from the ceiling down to the floor.

Dividing the space, starting from the ceiling down to the floor.

The design we chose for the ceiling. I was offered the one in colours, but I preferred all white to match my theme.

The design we chose for the ceiling. I was offered the one in colours, but I preferred all white to match my theme. I was very happy with this. Exactly what I had in mind.

So, ceiling : CHECKED! 🙂

Back to the kitchen story. After a few days, we went back to the house to check out the progress of the kitchen. No one was there since it was Sunday. I carefully got into the kitchen and saw this.

The then kitchen..

The then kitchen..

Hubby was all laughing, smiling and kept saying, ‘Cantik laaa B…’. I was just scratching my head and went silent. Hubby noticed something was wrong with me and asked, ‘Kenapa? You x suka ke?’ I didn’t answer straight away, but when he asked me again, I just told him,
‘This is not what I want. I x suka.’

What went wrong here? The colour? Yeah, maybe, but that wasn’t the biggest issue. It was a sore to my eyes to see the rough finishing at every edge of the table top. How do I explain this? Hmm…. Imagine, when the black/dark granite tiles are cut into parts to fit the measurement of the table top, you will see the greyish granite colour inside, right? So when you arranged those tiles together, it would form this inconsistent greyish line along the edges of the table top. So unappealing. Looked like an unfinished work. Just so you know, I have a lil bit of OCD, so the inconsistent greyish line made me wanted to pull my hair every time I looked at it.

Something like this. The greyish granite colour inside.

Something like this. The greyish granite colour in the red circle.

I tried to ask the contractor the next day, if he could do anything to fix it, he simply said, ‘Alaa.. Takpela cikgu, sikit je tu…’.

Eeeii.. Tak guna betul! Tak kemas!

Kitchen : DISASTER! 😦

I was already moody, couldn’t care less about the whole progress after that. I started fighting again with hubs. If I’m not mistaken, I did say I wanted to sell the house because I didnt like the kitchen. Haha. Drama queen much?

Will be continued in Home Is Where Our Story Begins (Part 3)

Leave a Reply

