Mr. Crab And Mr. Squid

fs-funny-cat-card-4

source

So tonight I would like to share one of my lesson plans that I designed for my Year 3 kids. It was not in the textbook because I created it myself. So, please expect some flaws. Haha

Lesson 1 : LISTENING / SPEAKING I wrote this story myself so it was kinda weird. And.. Mr.Crab and Mr.Squid? Where's Spongebob?

Lesson 1 : LISTENING / SPEAKING
After I read them the story, I asked them simple WH Questions such as, ‘How many characters in the story?’ “Where did Mr.Crab live?’ and etc.

I wrote this story at 3 a.m. I just couldn’t find the best, simplest and easiest story to teach Simple Past Tense on the internet, so I had to come up with my own story. I dunno why I chose crab and squid as my characters, but these two characters remind you of something right? Haha. SPONGEBOB!

If you look at the ending of the story where the food was gone, I was actually so sleepy and exhausted at that time. I didn’t know how to finish the story, so sengaja buat tergantung. Kunun2 nk suruh my kids sambung cerita la and it worked. Haha

Lesson 2 : READING They colour the sentence halves based on the story that they've learnt in Lesson 1.

Lesson 2 : READING
Match the sentence halves based on the story.

Answer and colour. Colour and answer.

Answer and colour. Colour and answer.

This is what I did in Lesson 2, after doing shared reading. First, I asked them to retell the story using picture cards that I pasted on the board and then, we moved to this activity. Basically, they just had to choose the correct phrases based on the story, but to add more fun in it, I asked them to colour it. They loved colouring. Semua pun nk warna. Gambar Mr.Crab and Mr.Squid yang memang dh berwarna tu pon nk warna lagi..

Lesson 3 : WRITING A good platform to expand their ideas.

Lesson 3 : WRITING
A good platform to expand their ideas.

Talking about outside the box huh?

Talking about outside the box huh?

Here is the best part. I asked them to throw me ideas about what happened to the food. At first, class was a bit quiet because they thought I expected some serious answers, so I started to give examples, ‘The food was gone because Mr.Crab didn’t like it and he threw it away.’ After that, one by one gave me weird funny answers. I wrote properly on the board and asked them to choose any three of the answers and write them on the task sheet.

Lesson 4 : GRAMMAR Simple Past Tense yaaww..

Lesson 4 : GRAMMAR
Simple Past Tense yaaww. (I suck at writing simple instructions!)

Since the story was in Past Tense, I thought it would be good if I focused on the Simple Past Tense used in this story. I explained about Past Tense and gave examples such as ‘had’, ‘went’ and ‘shared’ from the story. Then, I asked them to help me find few more Past Tense verbs and list them down in the task sheet above.

Lesson 4 : GRAMMAR Match and match and match!

Lesson 4 : GRAMMAR
Match and match and match!

Then, match the verbs in Past Tense to the root words. Of course, I gave an example on the board before asking them to do it by themselves.

Lesson 4 : GRAMMAR Fill in the blanks!

Lesson 4 : GRAMMAR
Fill in the blanks!

Lastly, ‘Fill in the blanks’ exercise as the closure of the grammar lesson. For some reason, they said this exercise was the hardest. I didn’t give examples but I told them the answers were all in the story that they have just read. I helped them with the first two questions, then, baru la diorg boleh buat sendiri. Maybe my instructions were not clear.

For ‘Language Art’ lesson, I just asked them to do a role-play. I divided them into several groups and they presented it in front of the class. I know there were only two characters in the story, but I asked them to insert the ending of the story by themselves (like what they did in Lesson 3) and there, they could add more characters. So, every group presented different ending of the story. One of the groups came up with something like this,
‘The food was stolen by a witch. The witch gave the food to her assistant and children.’

Some even acted as non-living thing, like bubbles.
‘The food got into a huge bubble and the bubble took it away. When the bubble got into the surface, it burst!.’

It was funny but quite tiring especially when you handled a group of over-curious and over-excited students.

Owh, I just love teaching!

p/s – It’s 12.02 a.m. now so Happy Birthday to me! Haha

Leave a Reply

