“Hi Again Malaysia”, Episode 3- Pictures + ‘Jadi Cikgu Tak Standard??’

brisbane-city

As promised, here are the pictures of my last night in Brisbane, Australia.

OTW to Unildoge Brisbane, 7.30pm (30th November 2008)

My main luggage -32 kg

My main luggage -32 kg

Our West End house #1 -Memories remain-

Our West End house #1 -Memories remain-

Our West End house #2 -Gonna miss it so much!-

Our West End house #2 -Gonna miss it so much!-

Our luggage

Our luggage

Judy and us...

Judy (our Singaporean neighbour) and us...

In maxi cab otw to Unilodge

In maxi cab otw to Unilodge

Judy and the luggage

Judy and the luggage

Infront of Unilodge to be picked up by bus to Brisbane International Airport

Infront of Unilodge to be picked up by bus to Brisbane International Airport

Judy and The 7 Wonders, from left- Ponnie, Shah, Eqa, Jue, Judy, Nurul, Sal and Emy

Judy and The 7 Wonders, from left- Ponnie, Shah, Eqa, Jue, Judy, Nurul, Sal and Emy

BABAI JUDY…..

At Brisbane International Airport, before and after after check-in, 9.30pm (30th November 2008)

Have I mentioned that I needed to pay extra $48 for the excess baggage? Here’s the conversation with the lady at the check-in-counter.

The lady = No, it’s too heavy. You need to take something out from the bag. Otherwise you have to pay.

Emy        = It’s alright. I’ll pay.

The lady = But it’ll cost you $240 if you want to pay. It’s quite a lot.

Emy        = Owh.. okay… (Damn!! I’m so dead!) Erm, so I have to take something outta the bag and put in the hand luggage? (I mean, here? Now??)

The lady = Yeah, and it’ll cost you less. Look, you still have to pay, coz it’s too heavy, but it’s only $48. That’d be better choice.

Emy        = Okay then, I’ll pay $48

That’s the story bout my main luggage. I’ve actually already expected that I needed to pay for the extra kgs, but I didnt expect it would cost me $240. Hahaha. Thank God the lady was so nice and helped me to pay less.

Brisbane International Airport -International Departures-

Brisbane International Airport -International Departures-

My excess baggage b4 check in...

My excess baggage b4 checking in...

Friends and luggage..

Friends and luggage..

MH140, Kuala Lumpur -our flight-

MH140, Kuala Lumpur -our flight-

Me and Akran -2 org budal yg hampir2 kena byr $240 for extra kgs.. Haha!

Me and Akran -2 org budak yg hampir2 kena byr $240 for extra kgs.. Haha!

Salina Gedik and Emy Winchester

Salina Gedik and Emy Winchester

Me and Uni-Queensland friend, Raqim

Me and Uni-Queensland friend, Raqim

With Jo, our lecturer and coordinator...

With Jo, our lecturer and coordinator...

With Pakngah

With Pakngah

With 'kunun2 Raul', Ewan. Hahaha!

With 'kunun2 Raul', Ewan. Hahaha!

Finally, KLIA Malaysia.. 5.15am -local time- (1st December 2008)

Breakfast at KFC with my friends -Nasi Lemak Enak, Orange Juice- while waiting for my family.

KLIA -Jannah and Nurul (waiting for the next flight to Kota Baru and Bayan Lepas)

KLIA -Jannah and Nurul (waiting for the next flight to Kota Baru and Bayan Lepas)

Makan2...

Makan2...

Makan2 lagi...

Makan2 lagi...

Ponnie (background) and Emy (ngntok2 lagi..)

Ponnie (background) and Emy (ngntok2 lagi..)

Ponnie tgh argue ngn mak die psl parking.. Haha!

Ponnie tgh argue ngn mak die psl parking.. Haha!

Bosan, transferring songs and pictures to Sal's lappy.

Sal tgh tgu flight to KK, aku tgh bosan tgu family, transferring songs and pictures to Sal's lappy.

Incidents at MAS KARGO…

After my family arrived, we all went to MAS Kargo to pick my boxes that I shipped one week before. It was so annoying that we had to wait for hours in order to get it settled. I wasn’t used to the humidity yet since Aussie’s weather is dry (Haha!), so I hate when I was sweating like a pig. Pastu masa my sister and I nk gie toilet, kitorg terserempak ngan beberape org pakcik yg keje kat tempat kargo ni. Kitorg tanyer die, apesal lame gile ni and kitorg still x dpt brg kitorg lagi? Tau ape die ckp? “Ni tgh lunch hour ni, diorg gie makan. Kul 2 nnti bru balik.”

My jaws dropped!!! And I made a face like ‘WHAT THE HELL???’ Dier tatau ke lame giler org tgu kat luar ni? Tau la lunch hour, tp bnde2 shipping ni sumer start nk setelkan before lunch hour lagi, setelkan je la dulu. Tah pahape! And then, I remember… Owh, right! This is Malaysia… And I better get used to it.

And one more incident. The pakcik asked me, ‘Blajar kat mane?’. And then my sis answered him since I was too annoyed to respond, ‘Kat Australia. Bru balik ni.. Tu yg nk amek2 brg dier ni..’ The pakcik said, ‘Oo… Ni nnti nk keje ape ni?’ Since he was looking at me, so I answered him, short. ‘Cikgu’.

Again, the packik pissed me off again!! ‘La.. jdi cikgu je? Belajar tinggi2, carik la keje yg standard sket. Takkan nk jadi cikgu je…’ I actually wanted to answer him like this, ‘Wei pakcik. Pakcik ingt senang ke jdi cikgu?? Pakcik ingt senang ke nk ngajar? Pakcik ingt standard sgt ke org2 yg jdi engineers, doctor, lawyers sume tu? Klo kitorg cikgu yg xder standard ni x wujud, x yah ckp la engineer, doctor sume tu.. Diorg tu sume mimpi je la ni exist dlm dunia ni.’

But I didnt say it. Coz I still respect old citizen like him. I crossed my arms, and looked at him,

“Kitorg ni sume cikgu2 yg ade standard. Klo x, kerajaan x antar kitorg gie overseas.” It didn’t hit him that much I know, but I didnt wanna waste my time and energy to argue with people like this. He’s not up to my standard to argue with. Actually, he’s not even worth to be mentioned in my blog. But I’m mentioning this, coz it reminds me of something.

Back in Aussie, being a teacher is never an issue. When people asked us, what are we studying, and we said Primary Education, and they ‘ll be so excited and said, ‘Cool!! So, you’re becoming a teacher? Wow, that’s great! And bla bla bla..’ We (I particularly was) were proud and happy telling people that I’m gonna be a teacher, coz Aussie people really think it’s a noble job (infact it really is!). And they respect it. Like really respect it! But, here in my own country, things are the opposite. It’s not about the pakcik only, it’s the mentality of most of Malaysians. I’m wondering why is that happening.

Know what? Thank God I’m becoming a teacher. If not, I might probably be a narrow-minded person like that pakcik, and have such stupid and irrelevant opinion bout teachers. And also, probably be categorized as The Most ‘Kuno’ People in the World.

12 thoughts on ““Hi Again Malaysia”, Episode 3- Pictures + ‘Jadi Cikgu Tak Standard??’

  1. NURUL SALWANA MOHD MULTAZAM KHAIR says:

    teacher ngan engineer basic gaji memang same….
    ignore je org camtuh..aku dh byk kali kene kot..bt i guess, foreigner memang agak respek kerjaya as a teacher..be proud of what we have.what we achieved.
    and live liveto the fullest…
    wey emy..msg aku no ko daa……..

  2. William Tan says:

    I have the same feelings as you do when I left Wellington. It was so sad but I hope to get back to Wellington one day. Haha and I also have to pay money for excess baggage too. But I already knew I had too because my bag berat sangatttttt hehe so dah siap dah prepare money to pay even before I went to the airport. But Im not concerned over losing money – being seperated from my unforgetable life in Wellington and with great friends made there is more painful if anything.

  3. salina says:

    hahha.comel pacik tu. nape u xckp kat die yg u pon heran keje2 glamer mcm model, penyanyi, doctor engineer x ngajar kat skola…

Leave a Reply

